Does Anyone Really Like Being Told What To Do?

You need to be yourself, don’t do anything stupid, just be yourself! Just act cool, be normal (whatever normal means to you). We all get told these almost every time it is perceived that a huge wave of stress and/or pressure is underway or something intense is about to happen. Personally I don’t like being told what to do, no one likes being told what to do and even worse is that no one likes being told not to do something. Take for example you tell me “hey don’t climb the chair because if you do, you’ll get dirt all over the chair”.as ridiculous as that is, I can already imagine how enraged I’ll be if that happened. Obviously I wasn’t planning on climbing the chair before I was told not to, I don’t want to climb it, the thought never even crossed my mind, but for the simple fact that I was told not to do it, the whole idea of climbing the chair just seems a lot interesting at the moment; safe to say I want to do it with a big smile of course – I mean if you can be stupid enough to imagine that I’d want to do something as stupid as that, I’ll just simply let my imaginations run wild and beat you at your own stupidity by not just climbing the chair but moon walking across the surface of the chair just to ‘out-stupid’ you. Obviously I’m digressing – the point is ordinarily we all have it ingrained in our subconscious to go against instructions whenever possible (I.e when you feel the consequences of your rebellion is minimal), be it a negative or positive situation.

When someone is being told what to do in a scenario where it suggests some type of mockery, 80% of the time, you’ll revolt, while the other 20% is dependent on various factors. I had a friend of mine tell me about how she revolted because she was been told what to do and in that situation it felt belittling to her and in the instant it was like a truck load of mockery was dumped on her head, she just couldn’t take it and so inevitably she revolted. When I heard that, the first thing that came to mind was that; if this happened in her workplace, and the said person giving her sticks for what they thought she did wrong and telling her what to do was her boss as opposed to being a member of her family, would her reaction still be the same? I’m sure it would have been a different story entirely because then her brain would calculate at a speed that a core i7 couldn’t process and she would consider all that she has to loose by rebelling and thus create more room or develop some sort of resistance to the ‘none sense’ she can take.

Everyone has a limit, a limit to the trash they can take from anyone, I mean even the trash cans have limits to the amount of trash they can take. The amount of trash you can take from anyone definitely differs from the amount I can take. Personally I don’t like giving people trash and I believe everyone gets treated the same way they treat other people. I’ve seen people go back to their vomit and honestly I don’t know how they do it. I don’t like doing it, I would avoid doing it as much as I can. Basically when you go back to someone you previously dissed and had a fallout with and you’re asking them for a favor…errrrr you can already imagine how it’ll go down. People like to give orders, they like to tell other people what to do, it’s a jungle and everyone is fighting for supremacy; fighting to be the alpha male (both men and women alike), at every opportunity they get, the orders will roll in. Before you rebel against an order, instruction or observation make sure you think things through, because after all order being translated to rules is how we keep sanity in the society. Here’s a short list of things to consider before getting mad or revolting.

1 – who is the person to you?

2 – what is their level of contribution to you

3 – are they better than you or worse?

4 – personal level of connection

5 – what are the chance of you crossing paths in future (how soon will you need their help or how soon will they need your help)

6 – how crucial is their influence to your present status

7 – reasons behind their present action towards you (no one acts without reason)

8 – your shitometer gauge (how much trash can you take)

Leave a comment